Top Casinos
10CRIC casino
star 5.0
bet365 casino logo review
star 5.0
Casumo review
Casumo Casino
star 5.0
unibet logo
star 4.5

IPL Winners and Runners Since Inception

the author

Buvanesh Thiraviam

date post

May 19, 2024

ipl winners every year


facebook twitter

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a festival of cricket in India, with the tournament dishing out some enthralling matches. The league assembles some of the finest domestic and overseas T20 cricketers, plying their trades for 10 IPL teams.

As the tournament gets underway every year in the peak Indian summer, all teams set their eyes on the coveted trophy. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are 2 of the most successful teams in the league, having won the trophy 5 times each.

On that note, let’s look at the list of IPL winners and runners-up since 2008.

IPL Winners and Runners: Season by Season



Runner Up


Rajasthan Royals

Chennai Super Kings


Deccan Chargers

Royal Challengers Bangalore


Chennai Super Kings

Mumbai Indians


Chennai Super Kings

Royal Challengers Bangalore


Kolkata Knight Riders

Chennai Super Kings


Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings


Kolkata Knight Riders

Kings XI Punjab


Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings


Sunrisers Hyderabad

Royal Challengers Bangalore


Mumbai Indians

Rising Pune Supergiant


Chennai Super Kings

Sunrisers Hyderabad


Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings


Mumbai Indians

Delhi Capitals


Chennai Super Kings

Kolkata Knight Riders


Gujarat Titans

Rajasthan Royals


Chennai Super Kings

Gujarat Titans


2008 | Rajasthan Royals

The IPL’s first season took place in 2008 and saw Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) clash in the final. Batting first, CSK posted 163 runs on the board. The match went down to the wire, and RR sneaked a victory on the last ball, crowning them the inaugural IPL champions.

2009 | Deccan Chargers

The second season’s final pitted Deccan Chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against each other. The now-defunct Chargers put up 143 runs on the scoreboard and successfully defended the total by restricting RCB to 137. 

2010 | Chennai Super Kings

CSK made it to their second IPL final and elected to bat first against Mumbai Indians. They set a target of 169 runs, which MI failed to chase by 22 runs, helping CSK win their maiden IPL title.

2011 | Chennai Super Kings

CSK continued their dream run into the 2011 edition, successfully defending their crown. This time, they squared off against RCB and posted a mammoth 205 runs, batting first. In response, RCB managed to reach 147 runs, losing the match by 58 runs.

2012 | Kolkata Knight Riders

CSK entered the final three times on the bounce, taking on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The defending champions scored 190 runs in the first innings. Manvinder Bisla’s heroic knock (89) helped KKR chase down the target and claim their maiden IPL trophy.

2013 | Mumbai Indians

It was a repeat of the 2010 final, with CSK and MI battling it against each other, though the result went in favour of MI. Batting first, MI mustered a decent total of 148 runs. While defending the target, MI restricted CSK to 125/9 to get their hands on the coveted trophy for the first time.

2014 | Kolkata Knight Riders

In the 2014 season finale, KKR were up against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings). After being asked to bat first, Punjab scored 199 runs riding on the back of Wriddhiman Saha’s 115. In reply, Manish Pandey (94) led KKR’s charge, helping them thrash the target and win the IPL title for the second time.

2015 | Mumbai Indians

CSK and MI were at it again in the 2015 IPL final. Mumbai batted first and piled up 202 runs on the board. In pursuit of the huge target, CSK managed 161 runs, resulting in MI winning the whole thing for the second time.

2016 | Sunrisers Hyderabad

RCB had a dream run in the 2016 season and played the final against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). However, they fell short of winning the title by 8 runs while chasing SRH’s 208-run total. With that, Hyderabad won their maiden IPL trophy.

2017 | Mumbai Indians

The 2017 final between MI and Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) was a low-scoring thriller that went down to the final ball. Batting first, MI could only muster 129 runs. It looked like RPS would chase down the target, but MI bowlers held their nerves and took MI home by 1 run.

2018 | Chennai Super Kings

After serving a 2-year ban period, CSK were looking to turn around their fortunes. They faced off against SRH in the summit clash, who put up a 179-run target. Thanks to Shane Watson’s 117, CSK thrashed the target with 8 wickets to spare and got their hands on the IPL titles for the third time.

2019 | Mumbai Indians

Mumbai were yet again embroiled in a last-ball thriller, this time against rivals CSK. Batting first, MI managed to score 149 runs. The match went down to the wire, with MI clinching their fourth IPL title by 1 run.

2020 | Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians were an unstoppable force in the 2020 season, and Delhi Capitals (DC) also didn’t have any clue on how to stop them. MI defended their trophy by chasing down DC’s target of 157 runs with 5 wickets to spare.

2021 | Chennai Super Kings

CSK had a forgettable outing in 2020, but they made it up by qualifying for yet another IPL final in 2021. Chennai posted 192 runs on the board against KKR. The total was more than enough, as CSK restricted KKR to 165/9, laying their hands on their fourth trophy.

2022 | Gujarat Titans

The 2022 IPL season saw 2 new teams — Gujarat Titans (GT) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) — enter the fray, with GT making it big in their maiden season. They tore down Rajasthan Royals in the final by restricting them to 130 runs and chasing down the target with 7 wickets in hand.

2023 | Chennai Super Kings

GT continued their thunderous run into the 2023 edition but faltered in the final against CSK. Batting first, the Titans posted a huge 214 runs on the board. Rain interrupted the game, and CSK’s target was revised to 171 runs in 15 overs, which they hunted down on the last ball to win their fifth title.

More News

Top 10 All Rounders in Indian Cricket History

Read more

Powerplay Overs in ODI Cricket – Explained

Read more

Powerplays in T20Is – Explained

Read more