Top Casinos
10CRIC casino
star 5.0
bet365 casino logo review
star 5.0
Casumo review
Casumo Casino
star 5.0
unibet logo
star 4.5

10 Iconic Moments in IPL Cricket

the author

Buvanesh Thiraviam

date post

May 21, 2024

iconic moments in ipl


facebook twitter

Since its inception, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has never failed to produce iconic moments. Over the years, the IPL has witnessed some thrilling matches and stunning performances that have kept the fans on the edge of their seats.

However, a few of those moments shine brighter, depicting the league’s fighting nature. So in this article, we’ll run down the annals of the IPL to relive some memorable moments.

Here are the 10 most iconic moments that took place in the IPL.

10. Rajasthan Royals: From Underdogs to Champions

Coming into the inaugural IPL season in 2008, the Rajasthan Royals (RR) were considered underdogs. No one thought the Royals had even the slightest chance of winning the league.

But the franchise, under the leadership of Shane Warne, stunned everyone by topping the points table. Later, RR made their way into the final by defeating the Delhi Daredevils in the first semi-final.

On June 1, 2008, the Royals scripted history as they lifted the inaugural IPL title by beating the Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets.

9. Shane Watson’s Heroic Innings to Hand CSK 3rd Title

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) were facing the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 2018 final at the Wankhede Stadium. Batting first, SRH put up a challenging total of 178 runs on the board.

CSK batters had a task cut for themselves, with 179 needed to claim the IPL trophy. Shane Watson was CSK’s go-to batter in the much-important having been among the runs throughout the season.

However, Watson carried a hamstring strain and endured a slow start in the chase. Despite that, he overcame the odds, hammering an unbeaten 117 off 57 balls, taking CSK to their third IPL glory.

8. CSK’s Triumphant Comeback

The 2018 IPL season was a crucial affair for CSK, as they were making a comeback to the league after serving a 2-year ban. So there was no better way than to taste success right after the much-awaited return to get over the gloomy period.

Shane Watson’s heroics in the final was just one piece of the puzzle. Many more pieces fell into their right places, with every player chipping in with crucial performances.

The collective efforts of every member powered CSK to a dream comeback, winning the IPL title after 4 seasons.

7. Virat Kohli Brings up Century Despite Stitches on Hand

Virat Kohli has a reputation for scoring big knocks in the IPL. He brought up one of those knocks by defying crushing pain, showcasing his top-notch temperament.

It was a match between the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in Bengaluru. A heavy downpour resulted in a curtailed game that saw both teams play 15 overs each.

Coming into the match, RCB’s captain Kohli had 7-8 stitches on his left hand. Despite that, the run machine put on a show, scoring 113 off 50 balls to hand RCB a crucial win.

6. Sohail Tanvir’s Picks Up IPL’s First Five-Wicket Haul

Sohail Tanvir played a crucial role in the Rajasthan Royals’ 2008 IPL triumph by bagging the Purple Cap. But his performance against CSK in the group stage earned him accolades.

The pacer became the first bowler to grab a five-wicket haul in the league. Tanvir paralysed CSK’s top order by dismissing Parthiv Patel, Stephen Fleming, and Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan in 3 overs, reducing them to 11 for 3. 

Later, he completely strangled CSK by picking up another 3 wickets to skittle them for 109 runs. Tanvir finished the innings with the then-best bowling figures of 6 wickets for 14 runs.

5. Adam Gilchrist’s First Ball-First (and Only) Wicket

Adam Gilchrist had a respectable career in the IPL, captaining the Deccan Chargers to the title victory in 2009. Later, between 2011 and 2013, he turned up for the Kings XI Punjab.

The former Australian keeper-batter played his last IPL match in the 2013 season against the Mumbai Indians (MI). He couldn’t do much with the bat but signed off in a ravishing style by picking his only IPL and T20 wicket.

It was the last over of the match, with MI needing 51 runs. The match was done and dusted, but Gilly decided to have some fun with the ball.

He bowled the first delivery to Harbhajan Singh, which he hit straight into the hands of the fielder. After picking his maiden wicket, Gilly started celebrating it wildly by doing the Gangnam Style dance.

This was the only delivery Gilchrist bowled in his entire T20 career and picked up a wicket, ending his career with an average of 0 and a strike rate of 1! 

4. Punjab Kings Crush 262-run Target

Punjab Kings (PBKS) may not have yet won the IPL trophy, but they have witnessed some iconic moments in the league’s history. One of those came in the 2024 season when PBKS did the unthinkable.

Punjab were playing against the Kolkata Knight Riders at Eden Gardens. PBKS bowlers faced the brunt of KKR batters, conceding a total of 261 in 20 overs.

The target was steep, but Punjab batters were determined to give it back with full force. The opening duo of Prabhsimran Singh (54 off 20) and Jonny Bairstow (108* off 48) provided a fiery start. 

Later, Rilee Rossouw (26 off 16) and Shashank Singh (68* off 28) played crucial knocks to help PBKS chase down the humongous target of 262 with 8 balls and 8 wickets to spare.

3. Aditya Tare’s Six Takes MI to Playoffs

The 2014 group stage match between MI and RR was a cracker of a contest. Both teams were fighting for a playoff berth in a do-or-die match.

Batting first, Rajasthan scored 189 runs in the first innings. Now, Mumbai had to chase the target of 190 runs in 87 balls (14.3 overs) to qualify for the IPL Playoffs on net run rate.

Mumbai batters got to work, taking MI to 188 runs in 14.2 runs. MI only needed 2 runs to win the match and enter playoffs, but Ambati Rayudu got run out, leaving MI short of 1 run.

However, the game wasn’t over yet. The defending champions had one more chance to make it to the playoffs. The only condition was MI needed to hit a boundary on the next delivery at any cost.

In came Aditya Tare, who hit the first ball he faced for a six over square leg, taking Mumbai into the knockouts and crushing RR’s hope.

2. Chris Gayle’s Carnage at Chinnaswamy Stadium

Chris Gayle doesn’t need any special introduction. Everyone knows about his swashbuckling knocks in the IPL.

One of them unfurled at Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy Stadium against the Pune Warriors in 2013. That day, the Chinnaswamy crowd witnessed actual rain followed by a Gayle Storm!

The mighty batter was on a song from the beginning, giving the Pune bowlers a run for their money. Gayle was in no mood to slow down and reached his hundred off 30 balls.

He didn’t stop there and continued his carnage, taking his score to 175 not out. Later, he also rolled over his arms to pick up 2 wickets to put the icing on the cake.

1. Brendon McCullum’s 158 Sets IPL on Fire

The Chinnaswamy Stadium stood witness to yet another memorable day that marked the beginning of the IPL. Along with that, the first-ever IPL match also displayed what to expect from the league in the future.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) hosted KKR in the opening clash, which saw Brendon McCullum plunder a blazing knock.

The Kiwi batter destroyed RCB’s bowling attack, taking them to the cleaners. McCullum hammered an unbeaten 158 off 73 balls, including 10 fours and 13 sixes.

McCullum’s blitzkrieg truly set the ball rolling for the IPL!

More News

Top 10 All Rounders in Indian Cricket History

Read more

Powerplay Overs in ODI Cricket – Explained

Read more

Powerplays in T20Is – Explained

Read more