Top Casinos
10CRIC casino
star 5.0
bet365 casino logo review
star 5.0
Casumo review
Casumo Casino
star 5.0
unibet logo
star 4.5

T20I Cricket Format – Explained

the author

Buvanesh Thiraviam

date post

May 09, 2024


facebook twitter

Following the article on the longer formats, here is our explainer on the Twenty-twenty cricket.

The shortest format is the newest addition to the sport, having been introduced in 2005. Since then, the T20I format has taken the world by storm.

This is the shortened version of the ODI format, with teams playing 20 overs per innings. T20I cricket is a fast-paced format, with a game lasting for about 3 hours. Each innings is played for 1.25 hours, with a mid-innings break of 20 minutes.

Powerplay and Fielding Restriction Rules

Unlike ODI cricket, T20I cricket has only one mandatory powerplay, which lasts from the first over to the sixth over. During these first six overs, the fielding team is allowed to place only 2 fielders outside the ring.

For the remaining 14 overs, the fielding restrictions are relaxed, permitting 5 fielders outside the 30-yard circle.

The fielding teams are required to adhere to the minimum over rate of 14.11 overs per hour. If the team fails to maintain the over rate, they will face an in-match penalty as well as a hefty match fine.

If the fielding side fails to start the last over of the innings in the permitted time, then they will be allowed to field only 4 fielders outside the circle.

Possible Results

The possible T20I match results are similar to those of ODI cricket. The team that scores more runs is adjudged an outright winner.

While a match will end with no result if both teams don’t get the opportunity to bat for a minimum of 5 overs. 

And if both team scores are level after the completion of both innings, the match will result in a tie. However, such games have the provision of determining a winner by playing Super Overs. 

Major Tournaments in T20I Cricket

The global cricket body organises T20 World Cups for both men’s and women’s teams. The premier T20 tournaments are scheduled every 2 years, with teams from across the globe participating in them based on team rankings and World Cup qualifiers.

Since 2023, the ICC has started to conduct the Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup. The Under-19 women’s tournament is also organised every 2 years.

Final Words on the future of the Cricketing format

All three formats of the game have their own rules and factors that promise to entice cricket fans. As we move forward, we can expect the three formats to co-exist with each other, catering to all kinds of audiences and fans.

More News

History of Indian Cricket Over the Years

Read more

The Golden Age of Australian Cricket: Dominance in the 1990s to Mid-2000s

Read more

5 Reasons behind the Great Fall of West Indies Cricket

Read more